Cheyenne’s Illustrated Fun FAQs

b3cc199e-a8e4-4fe2-b2ee-656a9043d373_zps39evmkyw

Cheyenne, August 2015

Cheyenne’s Fun FAQs 

Today I offer up an expanded “Fun FAQs.” You’ll see some familiar ones, but there is new stuff, too. 🙂 Especially the adorable baby photos!

65-3months old

Cheyenne at 3 months old, 1965. Same smile, right? 🙂

Thanks for stopping by to take another peek into my world. I hope you enjoy the trip, and as always, feel free to ask more questions in the comments section below!

Now for the most important question I’ve been asked:

2015 Purple office


Q: What is your favorite color?

A: It used to be pink, but I grew up, oh, a few years ago. Now purple. Definitely purple. Hence the purple office.


2015 Ben and Jerrys

Q: What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

A: Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Garcia. Duh! Here I’m enjoying our favorite treat with K.T. Roberts. She clearly has great taste.


Q: How old are you?

A:  August 1st is my birthday. I am growing younger every day, so not sure how to answer this one. Ok–there just may be a clue to follow…

(BTW, J.K. Rowling and I were born one day apart. Just hours and $1 billion between us. 😉 )2015 Cake2


Q: What kinds of cool things did you get for your birthday?

2015 front Quilt2

A: Many incredible things from my generous friends and family members.

One of the most amazing is a quilt my mom made for me. The squares are embroidered fairies reading books, along with a typewriter, writerly sayings, and even my crescent moon logo.

2015 Fiddleback

My dad gave me a gorgeous fiddle. I don’t play the instrument, but he collects and has even made them!

The back of this fiddle is stunning, and the front is gorgeous as well. By the way, I grew up on a ranch so it’s “fiddle” and not “violin.” 🙂

2015 Evan 50

My adorable grandson lives in another state with his mom and wasn’t able to come to the party. So he made a giant 50 for my birthday. I’d have to say he is the cutest grandson ever. Of course I’m not biased or anything like that.


777be54c-5f48-4e45-91ec-9d7da63e9d9d_zpsyqtxycge

Q: What is the funniest or oddest birthday gift you received?

A: This sugar skull!  Everyone claimed innocence when I unwrapped gifts. Days later, we figured out the gift-wrapped skull had been sent instead of a gorgeous leather-bound journal from my friend Jordan, who hadn’t been there when we opened gifts. She did get in the item she’d wanted to give, and the company let her keep the sugar skull. I have it in my office and its eyes light up eerily red every time someone passes it! Ha!


2014 EvanPuppiesMatthew
Q: Do you have pets?

A: Three dogs, In order in the pyramid shown Daisy (world’s most adorable dog), Nikki (usually world’s least photogenic dog) and Checkers on the bottom (never stops wagging her tail and is one of the happiest dogs ever. Here she’s a little squished. 🙂

My grandson is pretending to be a fourth puppy in this picture, and his uncle, my youngest son, is clearly thrilled. No, I don’t count Evan and Matthew as pets. They’re not well trained enough. ed913b02-7564-4a48-b472-3ffae4eb7469_zps1lzm8b1m

And here are my the three crowded between my feet while I’m writing in my writing recliner. They tend to do this during the winter when I have a light blanket on.

Kyle and Nikki
This is a cute picture of my middle son with Nikki. My son is clearly hiding. LOL.

When I first started writing and my boys were young, sometimes I’d put up this sign just to keep an uninterrupted flow of writing. I think I need to use it again. IMG_4468


2015 Mom and Deb

Q: Who’s that wonderful woman beside you, who clearly takes after you?

A. This is my amazing mom, Karen, also one of my best friends.


201520Dangerously20Close_zps8rxsufty

You are dangerously close to being killed off in my novel

Q: What’s your favorite writer’s saying?

A: Take a look, read it, and weep… 2015 Sedona

It could be you.

Q: Where is one of your favorite places to go on a writer’s retreat?

A: Sedona. Ommmmmmm….


Q: Do you like to travel?

A: Yes! I admit I’m somewhat of a homebody, like most full-time writers, but I like to take one big trip a year. I also do enjoy traveling to conferences.

I’ve been to France, Italy, and Monaco. Mexico doesn’t count when you grew up close to the border. 😉

In 2016 I will be traveling to Ireland and London! I am excited about the trip!

Q: Where else in the world would you like to travel?

A: There are SO many places I want to travel to. Spain; more of Italy (such as Venice, Murano, Rome); Greece; Scotland; Germany; Austria; more of France; Thailand… Enough places to keep me busy for the next 50 years!


Q: What did you do before writing?

cochise collegeA: I Majored in journalism at Cochise College and the University of Arizona.UofA

Weirdly enough, I ended up in the mortgage business during the big refi boom in 1986; I also sold Princess House Products, a DSA for 7 years1_Princess_House_Inc_1474217; and later I sold accounting software and made enough money to pay off all of our bills and write full time. Fortunately for me, quitting my day job did work out, although not advisable.Debbie kindergarten

Q: When did you know you would be a writer?

A: Kindergarten, when I scribbled my first poem. School projects always turned into stories, books, poems.

66-0046KarenRobertDebbie1966

Q: Do you have cute pictures from when you were young just for the sake of showing cute pictures?

A: I have adorable pics. Who doesn’t? In this first one, I’m a year old.  My parents were so young!69-0086DebbieKarenChrisMatt1969 - Copy

I’m four in the second photo with my mom and two brothers. There’s almost exactly 3 years between myself and my youngest brother, so my parents were busy with three of us in three years. 🙂

70-0062Oct_cropped

The third one is with my dad and brothers when I was five. I’m wearing my favorite red shoes!

50th_24_Matt_Debbie_Robert_Karen_Chris

This last photo  is of my brothers, mom and dad, on their 50th wedding anniversary in December of 2013. 50 years is amazing! Can you tell my family is country and I grew up on a ranch? I am the only one who went city.

Guess who’s the oldest. Looking at the pictures from when we were younger kinda gives it away. LOL. I’m always told I look the  youngest, and I’m happy to go with that.

I now live in a nice, quiet neighborhood in the suburbs in the Arizona metro Phoenix area. My parents are still on the ranch that we moved to when I was seven. So 43 years ago!

1_2009_TANNER RANCH_mediumAnd here’s where I grew up, taken a few years ago. My dad has so many trees you can’t even see the ranch house! 

I have three sons, awesome guys I am very proud of. Here I am with my boys. Not a cowboy among these city boys.1_ChristmasFam

I hope you’ve enjoyed my fun FAQs. As always, feel free to ask me anything you’d like and I’ll add it.

Almost anything. 😉

~Cheyenne

Cheyenne's BMG logo

Cheyenne’s BMG logo

 

This entry was posted in baby pictures, cheyenne mccray, FAQs and tagged , , by cheymccray. Bookmark the permalink.

About cheymccray

Cheyenne McCray is an award winning, New York Times and USA Today Best Selling author who is a rare native Arizonan but refuses to be put behind glass as an endangered species. In her spare time she loves to torture characters--whether they're misbehaving or not—and kill off deserving individuals. She also totally gets off on blowing things up. All fictionally, of course. She'd rather chew glass than write sweet and sugary. Give her a hideous demon or particularly nasty villain to slay any day. Cheyenne enjoys creating stories of love, suspense, and redemption—in some cases. She enjoys building worlds her readers can get lost in. Hopefully they'll find their way out, but stranger things have been known to happen. If you would like to find out what odd and unusual things Cheyenne is up to these days, cruise her website any time, take a look at the bizarrely normal yet strange FAQs, and even drop her a line or two. Just not too hard—those things hurt. You might even learn a few things about that kinky author, Jaymie Holland. (Just don't tell Cheyenne's mom.

14 thoughts on “Cheyenne’s Illustrated Fun FAQs

  1. My parents just celebrated their 50th last year. They live in Glendale, I live in Nashville. My sisters and I cooked up a surprise that brought tears to both my parents’ eyes: I flew in for the celebration secretly and surprised them.
    I’m also a Cochise College alum.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My hubby bought me a Kindle Paper White 2 years ago for Christmas. Since I’ve always frequented my local library it was a no brainer to buy this for me . I’m disabled from an accident and reading has really helped me get lost for a bit in stories . Especially YOUR stories !! Anytime I see one of your titles come up on my emails to order books . I swear I’m surprised that u can’t hear my squealing giggles here in CT all the way there ! The only crummy part is that I can’t reorder any book once I have already ordered it and read it previously! From my accident I have to live with a nerve disease called CRPS . It is beyond painful . I do not get very much sleep due to the pain , so I keep my Kindle on my bedside table , so I can read your books at all hours of the day or night !!! Oh and I also have Lyme Disease too ! Maybe sometime one of your books could involve a disabled person …. They could fall in love with one of your hot and hunky Cowboys !!! Love your writing and please don’t EVER stop giveing your fans such Devine stories !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so very much, Jill. LOL about the squealing giggles! 😀 I’m glad you enjoy my books. I’m sorry you have to live with such challenges. In the book coming out in January, Chained, my heroine has CFS. It’s not the same as what you live with, and I don’t know if it is considered disabled to have chronic fatigue syndrome. It can be debilitating, so it probably is in those cases, I just hadn’t thought about it that way. Thank you again. I really appreciate your kind words! Lots of hugs! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

